2000AD announces Halo Jones & Judge Dredd/Batman special editions for 2018

Halo Jones

2000AD have announced a new colour version of Alan Moore and Ian Gibson’s all-time feminist classic, Halo Jones, today!

Mixing the old and the new, highlights of 2000AD’s 2018 graphic novel schedule include Moore and Gibson’s timeless world-building, the relentless rampage of the Dark Judges, pocket-sized editions of Judge Dredd classics, and unmissable stand-alone series.

Coloured by beakout Italian newcomer Barbara Nosenzo and published in three volumes this year, Halo Jones is an ordinary unemployed teenager living on a crowded and oppressive housing project floating off the coast of Manhattan. Desperate to leave her humdrum life, she escapes as a stewardess aboard a luxury space-liner but a chance encounter has ramifications far beyond Earth. And after she enlists in a dehumanizing interstellar war she becomes embroiled in an unlikely and complicated romance, her humanity tested and strained as she matures.

The first progressive feminist character in British comics, Halo Jones is a mature masterpiece of characterisation and world-building, and heralded the extraordinary talent of the writer who went on to pen Watchmen and V For Vendetta. Ian Gibson’s superlative art is complemented and energized by Nesenzo’s pitch-perfect new colours in an ideal edition for those yet to dive into Halo’s incredible but utterly relatable world.

You can read Moore talking about his time on 2000AD and writing these wonderful characters in the rare and collectable fanzine, Fusion, which is up for auction via ComicsFlix and ebay.  Find out more here

img_2960

The best-selling low price pocket-sized digest editions of Judge Dredd classics move into colour with two all-time great stories in May and August – Dredd teams up with DC Comics’ Batman in the famous Judgement on Gotham while a former Mega-City space marine returns home to find only despair and revenge in Mandroid.

img_1792

The ever-popular Dark Judges dominate 2018 with two collections. October’s Dominion by John Wagner and Nick Percival follows on from 2015’s Dark Justice and sees the Fearsome Foursome, previously marooned in space, plunge a planet into absolute horror.

The final story in the comic book tie-in to DREDD brings Judge Death to the world of Alex Garland’s gritty, violent 2012 movie. Collected in December, Karl Urban’s version of Dredd is confronted with his strangest and most challenging case yet in Final Judgement by Arthur Wyatt, Alex De Campi, and Henry Flint.

img_2826-1

Collections of the best of the 2000 AD archive continue with secret-agent-turned-secret-weapon M.A.C.H.1, and the first volume of the seminal Future Shocks reveals the extraordinary breadth of 2000 AD’s nursery for new talent for the first time.

Set in a post-war LA where magic is a fact of life, Guy Adams and Jimmy Broxton’s Hope was one of the breakout hits of 2017 and the collection in November is a claustrophobic, atmospheric noir thriller for fans of James Elroy and Vertigo’s Hellblazer, where a magic-wielding private eye investigating the kidnap of a child movie star gets caught in a web of intrigue and betrayal he could never have imagined. All the while being stalked by a nun in a gasmask…

And in October, Alan Grant and Arthur Ranson’s breathtaking Mazeworld will be republished in a larger format Collector’s Edition. Condemned murderer Adam Cadman who as he is hanged finds himself transported to a fantasy world, the executioner’s hood and noose both fixed to his skin. Is Cadman the fabled ‘Hooded Man’ who will overthrow the tyrant of Mazeworld? And what of his comatose body back in the ‘real’ world?

The full 2000 AD graphic novel schedule for 2018:
 
16/01/2018  9781781086025  Grey Area (TPB £16.99/$19.99)
08/02/2018  9781781086223  Ant Wars (TPB £10.99/$17.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086230  ABC Warriors: The Mek Files Vol. 4 (HB £25/$35.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086438  Strontium Dog: Repo Men (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086131  M.A.C.H. 1: The John Probe Mission Files (TPB £16.99/$23)
05/04/2018  9781781086315  Judge Dredd Case Files 15 (US edition) (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
05/04/2018  9781781086315  Judge Dredd: Case Files 31 (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
04/05/2018  9781781086278  2000 AD Digest: Judge Dredd/Batman (Digest TPB £6.99)
17/05/2018  9781781086353  Halo Jones Book 1 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
14/06/2018  9781781085592  The Complete Future Shocks Vol. 1 (TPB £19.99/$25.99)
12/07/2018  9781781086360  Halo Jones Book 2 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
26/07/2018  9781781086285  Brink Volume 2 (TPB £12.99/$13.99)
26/07/2018  9781781086292  Lawless Volume 2 (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
09/08/2018  9781781086308  2000 AD Digest: Judge Dredd – Mandroid  (Digest TPB £6.99)
09/08/2018  9781781086322  Sláine: The Brutania Chronicles Book 4 (HB £15.99/$23.99)
23/08/2018  9781781086339  Judge Dredd: Nobody Apes The Law (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
18/09/2018  9781781086377  Halo Jones Book 3 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
16/10/2018  9781781086544  Dark Justice: Dominion (HB £19.99/$24.99)
04/10/2018  9781781086568  Mazeworld (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
13/11/2018  9781781086582  Hope (TPB £10.99/$14.99)
29/11/2018  9781781086612  Judge Dredd Case Files 32 (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
29/11/2018  9781781086629  Dredd: Final Judgement (TPB £12.99/$17.99)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s